A Quick Letter

By: S. Davis

Dear Beautiful,

I know we haven’t met yet but I wanted to write to you.

I hope we haven’t crossed paths but since I have met some great women maybe it’s not a negative if we have some familiarity with one another. Sorry to get sidetracked there…

Over time I’ve mellowed. I’ve always been a person that carried a certain air of cool but I would say that’s pretty much my entire personality at this point in my life. Aside from that there is a fierce determination and drive inside that has never waned and it served as the impetus for me to move across the country. I’m pushing to create a career and a life that I want. Settling is not appealing to me…and maybe that’s how I’ve managed to avoid meeting you thus far.

What are you doing with your life? I’m sure you rise from the bed each morning for some type of work. Are you following your passion? I hope so. Are you happy with yourself?

You should know that I don’t want to have any regrets in life and I don’t want to bitch over things I didn’t do while I was lucky enough to have my youth and health. There is an absurdly high probability that I will fail at my pursuit but I can accept that. I would not be able to be a great partner for you if I didn’t give it a real chase though. There would be no way that I could accept the reflection in the mirror otherwise. This is my path right now. No matter where it takes me, I have to travel it – and I am.

Lately I’ve been thinking of the person you are, what you look like, how you dress and even subtle things like the crook of your neck and your favorite perfume. Odd, right?

Have you traveled? Tell me about your most frightening moment in a foreign country. I’ve got a cool story to tell you about when I was drugged in Amsterdam. Tell me about the naughty nights when you partied a bit too hard and (possibly) planted your flag. Ha! Where did you complete your studies? Did you enjoy your time at university?

It’s never mattered to me but what’s your nationality and ethnicity? Are you American, European, Asian? What color is your hair? How is it styled? Long, short, cute afro, cute rocker-style Mohawk like Pink, highlights, a fade maybe? The fade would take some getting used to but I’m sure you’re so amazing that I wouldn’t care too much.

Do you like to tell jokes? I hope so. Even if they’re corny and stale…I’ll welcome it all. We’ll last longer with the more laughs we share. I mean I’m attractive and all but there’s going to be a time when I’m not as handsome – though I doubt that – as I’ll be once we meet so we need something else to hang our connection on. Once we’re old and I’m teasing you about your six teeth and we’re in our house alone…I can’t tell all the jokes, you know?

About that empty house…do you want kids? My answer is really dependent on what makes you ultimately happy. Being a parent is not important to me nor is it something that I give much thought to. Is being a mother important to you? As in do you need to be a mother down to the core of your soul? If so, then I will do my part and be the very best father that I can be.

Now we’re entering murky territory because this is probably the closest thing to a deal-breaker that I have – you must admit that I am a low-maintenance type of guy – but I need to know how you feel about New York City. Cutting through the bullshit, I need to know if you could spend a good portion of our time together there. (To raise those kids that you want and such…and such, etc.) It’s my home. My home. At this point I’m not working on a timeframe but I’m going to move back to NYC in the future.

I love New York and the only other city I feel strongly towards is Rome – where I hope to live someday, at least for a few years – but even the ancient city is a distant second. Los Angeles has a lot to offer – and I’ve only missed NY once since moving to all the sunshine – but it’s not where I see myself long-term. I think of LA as more of a rest stop on the way to my destination.

Now if we happen to meet in LA – and you just cannot leave the state of eternal warmth – then I get that going east would be a major adjustment. I just couldn’t see myself living in LA for the rest of my life. I like the city a great deal but I miss winter, fall and spring. I do. Why do networks even employ meteorologists in Southern California? Weather does not change; I mean it’s hot and slightly-less-hot…all year round. Although I admit that 80-degree days at the Santa Monica Pier in December are unbeatable. If we do go about creating a life (or two; two is all you want, right?) I do not want to raise them in the City of Angels, ESPECIALLY if we have girls. No!

Can you live in NYC? I can compromise and move back to LA once the kids leave the nest. See, I’m able to make a deal. I give you children, we live in NYC, and we chill in California for our retirement years. Done…and done.

Another question: How did you get me to pay attention to you? Beauty alone doesn’t impress me – I know you’re hot – but how did our initial conversations go? I don’t like relationships but YOU convinced me to stop and date you, exclusively. You have to be intelligent, have to be.

Do you smell all sweet and lovely at all times of the day even when I never see you apply any type of product? Ha. How do you women pull that off? Do you like to dance – whether music is playing or not? I like spontaneous dancing.

Are you secretly giggling or outright laughing when you tower over me in heels? I’m 5’7” and most of the women I’ve been with are taller than me when heeled and dolled up for a night out. It doesn’t bother me at all because I have high self-esteem, I love my height, and I’m a sexy piece of chocolate. Most of the women that mattered to me, coincidentally, were all close to my height – without heels – so don’t hesitate to rock those shoes, babe.

Can you remain sexy even when we’re used to one another? I promise to stay as svelte as I can for as long as I can, although now that Chick-fil-A is in New York that will be a challenge. Can we make a promise not to wear I-already-have-you-and-I-don’t-need-to-impress-you-anymore sweats around our place? I’ll wear shorts, and go shirtless, or just make sure I show off my arms while you can opt for the tight yoga gear that women are wearing everywhere…even the ones who don’t even workout. Cool? You can go shirtless if you want to; gender equality, honey. Ha, just joking…not really. Maybe? Playing around…

I have to get into something dumb because this letter is making me think too much about you and we haven’t met. Be safe. See you later.

One more thing: You will break first and tell me “I Love You” before I do because I’m one hell of a man – and my charisma will infect your heart. Smile that luminous smile and just accept it. When I say it in return though, you will know it’s genuine, it will move you and you won’t forget the moment.

Kisses,
S.

3 thoughts on “A Quick Letter

  1. Resonance and Light October 17, 2015 / 1:35 am

    StyleWriter: this has moved me deeply, as it shall move her when she gets this letter.

    • sthewriter October 18, 2015 / 2:32 am

      Thank you for your kind words. I was just having a little fun so I thought to just type it out. I’m glad that you enjoyed reading it.

  2. Mark Kohan October 19, 2015 / 8:11 pm

    Nice writing Shawn!

Leave a Reply

