Succumb

By: S. Davis

I will not succumb to a wanting heart
I must be above all matters concerning it
For love is a game I don’t understand
A game I’m unwilling to participate

I will not erode
I shall not waver
Longing undermines…dulls the senses
Withers

Caring is accepting vulnerability
All for unity with another
Is the endgame procreation?
If so I politely take the exit

Stimulation exists
Testing the senses
Yearning to be explored
Attracting

More or less
Satisfaction or unrest
Pleasure or pain
Isolate or include

Diminished I am, with a partner
Distracted, unfocused
Unions fit for others
Others, not I

Can you truly…
Know another?
Is the exercise even possible or worthwhile?
What is romantic about love?

It consumes, destroys
Calms and delivers joy
Descriptions akin to drugs
This emotion

You will not have me
For I shall not give in
My path lies beyond
Reason fortifies

I will not succumb to a wanting heart
I am above all matters concerning it
For love is a game I don’t understand
A game I’m unwilling to participate

Leave a Reply

