Miles to Make

By: S. Davis

Precipitation fell from the sky

Continuously, unapologetically

My focus, unwavering

Continuing, wet

 

A choice was made

Cognizant of the consequences

Decision rendered in your mind

On you went

 

Tears of yours don’t matter

Disrespectful of a day so delicate

An attempt to justify your position akin to adolescent chatter

Irrelevant

 

Your tears and cries

I appreciate the lie

A waste of time

Character revealed

 

I included you in something dear

Heartfelt, unfiltered

You made it about yourself

Therefore I decided this ends

 

Selfish, petulant, immature

You can say you love me

I know I don’t

I didn’t and now I won’t

 

There is the door

Here’s my foot to help, you are replaced

You were a rest stop along the journey to my destination

I have many miles to make

 

Leave a Reply

