NFL: Week 7 Picks

By: Shawn Davis

After half-heartedly watching the Thursday evening games thus far this season, last week threw a curve ball when the Tennessee Titans fought back to beat the Pittsburgh Steelers so I’ll lend a closer eye for the NFC West showdown this evening. That’s the plan, at least.

This is the part of the column where I make a joke or sarcastic observation but I’m going to refrain from that this week. Why? Well, I really have been thinking about the players’ bodies in regards to competing on Sunday and then being gifted such a quick turnaround for these late-week contests and it’s too much to ask of them. Roger Goodell and the NFL owners (that employ him), are total hypocrites as it pertains to the health of the players throughout the league; they are.

How else could you explain having these Thursday games on the schedule all season long and not debuting at Thanksgiving like they’ve done since its inception? I’ve also never heard the owners or Goodell totally shelve the hideous idea of an 18-game regular season schedule.

I went 4-10 last week so I need to get my confidence back with this week’s slate. Here we go:

SEA 17 @ SF 20: The last team I would want to face is the 49ers after being humbled on their field by the defending champions. Good luck, Seattle.

TEN 17 @ BUF 23: I’m never too confident on which Buffalo team will show up and I could see the Titans reanimating Chris Johnson’s corpse here but I’ll take the home team, barely.

CLE 21 @ IND 27: It was great to see Brandon Weeden get his first win as a rookie – after stringing together a few good outings – but I think he stares across the field at another rookie quarterback who cuts the Browns defense to shreds.

GB 31 @ STL 13: The Rams do not have the personnel to rally back if they find themselves down, early, in a game. I feel confident the Packers put them in that position this week.

ARI 13 @ MIN 20: Kevin Kolb goes out and John Skelton comes back in so the musical chairs that has become the Arizona quarterback position will continue, hmm. I like Minnesota – in their dome – to make a few more plays than the Cardinals can.

WSH 20 @ NYG 31: I could see the Giants falling asleep at home like they usually do but they’ll be ready from the start and I expect this game to go to the champs. I have been wrong before though.

NO 24 @ TB 21: I like the Saints coming off a bye to beat the Buccaneers in a close game where Drew Brees gets the final possession.

DAL 20 @ CAR 17: Could they end in a tie? I would looooove that.

BAL 21 @ HOU 31: Dallas ran for 227 yards last week versus the Ravens and found a way to lose. Arian Foster and Ben Tate paid attention to the game film, I’m sure.

JAC 13 @ OAK 24: Carson Palmer does not make the one fatal mistake he made last week versus the Falcons (Asante Samuel pick-six) and gets the home victory.

NYJ 17 @ NE 34: The Jets won’t be able to keep up; Mark Sanchez is playing inconsistently but he doesn’t have any weapons around to help carry the load.

PIT 24 @ CIN 21: The Steelers still have life, right?

DET 17 @ CHI 24: The Bears are better defensively and are balanced on offense so this should be an easy pick. I’m not so sure though.

 

Last Week: 4-10

Season: 53-38

 

Leave a Reply

