NFL: Week 6 Picks

By: Shawn Davis

So tonight we have the Pittsburgh Steelers visiting the Tennessee Titans…blah. I’d rather have Saturday evening games than these poor Thursday contests but of course that won’t work because it would split the spotlight with the primetime college games. Color me with cynicism! The NFL cares so much about player safety by staging these games throughout the week, right? Stop laughing NFL executives we can all hear you stuffing cash in your pockets while you cover your mouth. Football is football though so I’ll be paying attention to what happens in Tennessee tonight.

Picks:

PIT 34 @ TEN 16: Pittsburgh Steelers.

STL 21 @ MIA 20: I like the Rams’ front-four to cause some trouble for the Reggie Bush-led Dolphins unit. Although I would not be shocked at all if Ryan Tannehill takes – and makes – some successful shots down the field to beat the visitors by a touchdown or two because St. Louis doesn’t employ the weapons to stage a comeback. I haven’t selected the Dolphins in any of my weeks of doing this column – and I really want to, wait, they do play the Bills twice this year – but they’ll force me to if they walk off the field with a win here.

DAL 27 @ BAL 17: I don’t know why but I like Tony Romo to lead the Cowboys into Baltimore and stun the Ravens. The Ravens played in a fog last week in Kansas City and I think their inefficiency will carry over offensively and they’ll be chasing the Cowboys from beginning to end. Expect DeMarcus Ware to be in Joe Flacco’s face the majority of the day, I do.

CIN 31 @ CLE 14: I cannot take the Browns, just can’t.

DET 20 @ PHI 23: Philadelphia turns the ball over a few more times but finds a way to win, while scaring their fans all to hell. As for the Lions: Develop a run threat!

KC 13 @ TB 20: Tampa should get this one, right?

IND 17 @ NYJ 23: I want to take the visitors here but the Jets will always compete, defensively, and I think they grind out a victory over the surprising Colts. Side note: Mark Sanchez has NO help on offense; do they have a general manager?

OAK 24 @ ATL 27: Carson Palmer throws it around and makes it a real game but falls short in the Georgia Dome where the Falcons seem almost invincible.

BUF 20 @ ARI 23: With the way Kevin Kolb got beat up last week against the Seahawks I can see the Bills’ front-four starting to earn their paychecks. Arizona’s offensive line keeps Kolb upright just enough for him to find Larry Fitzgerald for two touchdowns (to make up for the two his quarterback missed him for last week).

NE 31 @ SEA 20: The Seahawks have been a good story this season and I believe in their defensive unit but they’re playing the Patriots. They start Tom Brady and I hear that guy is great.

NYG 27 @ SF 31: Only because it’s a regular season game.

MIN 17 @ WSH 16: Whether Robert Griffin returns from last week’s concussion or not, I’ll take the Vikings to harass whoever takes the snaps under center for the Redskins.

GB 27 @ HOU 34: This could go either way but the Texans can win in a few ways whereas all the Packers can do consistently is pass…and give up points on defense. The Texans are complete and complete in this case means better.

DEN 27 @ SD 24: So you think Peyton Manning is washed up? He’s on pace for 4,797 passing yards (his most ever) and 35 touchdowns (second-most); read that again. I believe in the Broncos.

 

Last Week: 8-6

Season: 49-28

 

Leave a Reply

