NFL: Week 5 Picks

By: Shawn Davis

Back to the Thursday evening divorce game special: The Arizona Cardinals visit the St. Louis Rams in a game that no one would have thought would be important. The NFC West was viewed as an afterthought but the entire division has undergone a mini-renaissance, of sorts – and I think it’s really cool. Every team in the division is at least .500 or above and they all are playing good on the defensive side of the ball. Thank God someone still does, right?

My picks:

ARI 21 @ STL 17: Make no mistake, the Cardinals are not a fluke happening; they have gone 11-2 in their last 13 matchups. You do not win that many games – dating back to last season – just by showing up; someone please tell that to the Detroit Lions! In any case, I really like how Jeff Fisher has the Rams competing. Tough but I’ll take the road team.

MIA 17 @ CIN 27: I love how Ryan Tannehill takes shots down the field as opposed to going to the safe check-down in this offense but the Bengals are a bit too much this week.

GB 30 @ IND 17: Andrew Luck comes off a bye to face a Packers team primed to make a run at the NFC North crown. No, the Bears don’t move me.

BAL 20 @ KC 17: Baltimore is 3-1, with those wins all at home and their only loss on the road; well, this game is in Arrowhead. Am I going to pick the upset? Hmmm. Matt Cassel has about one more game before Brady Quinn gets the ball. Warm the kid up!

CLE 10 @ NYG 23: This game is at MetLife Stadium correct? The Browns are (probably) going to beat someone…and the Giants hate playing at home so the dish is beginning to cook itself here. I can smell it; can you? I’ll – reluctantly – take the champions.

PHI 17 @ PIT 27: I will take Big Ben and the Steelers at home…over an erratic Eagles unit.

ATL 24 @ WSH 27: I believe in Harvey Dent. Wait, I really have to stop watching the The Dark Knight. I believe in Robert Griffin.

SEA 13 @ CAR 20: I’m taking the Panthers to continue serving justice for the game the Seahawks were gifted. You KNOW what I’m talking about.

CHI 21 @ JAC 17: Bears, I guess. Although I do feel Jay Cutler is staring the scene in Any Given Sunday in the mirror where the offensive linemen allow the defense to beat on Willie Beamen mercilessly. It’s close!

TEN 17 @ MIN 23: The Vikings’ last two victories came against teams that came off playoff berths last season (49ers and Lions) so it seems they’ll stumble soon enough. I like them to feast on the cupcake they’re being fed this week.

DEN 31 @ NE 30: Peyton Manning and Tom Brady go for it in what could be their last meeting for a long time and I cannot wait. Defense is going to be a luxury in this one and since I picked the Broncos to hoist the trophy they have to put some wins together on their brutal schedule. Right? I’m going with Manning in this round.

BUF 17 @ SF 24: Niners.

SD 31 @ NO 38: Drew Brees gets the Saints their first victory because he gets the final possession. That’s all I got.

HOU 27 @ NYJ 13: This has “disappointing loss” written all over it! It does. I’m picking the Texans to close their ears to all the praise they’re getting from the national media…and win against a hopeless, yet desperate, team.

 

Last Week: 11-4

Season: 41-22

Leave a Reply

