NFL: Week 3 Picks

By: Shawn Davis

I absolutely have NO IDEA why there are people surprised at last night’s result in North Carolina. The Giants have been much better on the road than they are at their home field; ditto for Eli Manning. Carolina should have READ the pregame injury report because I seriously doubt that they did. Ramses Barden (nine receptions; 138 yards) and Andre Brown (113 yards; two touchdowns) played like the starters they were picked to replace last night.

Manning is no longer in the shadow of his older brother, Tom Brady, Drew Brees, Ben Roethlisberger or Aaron Rodgers. He is in their peer group and some of those top quarterbacks are looking up to him in the hierarchy of the best guys in the game.

My arm is in some pain so I’ll keep this one short. You can tease me for being a punk but I still show up to play…hurt.

Picks:

NYG 36 @ CAR 7: I didn’t pick that exact score but I did go with the defending champs. (One for the kid, ha.)

STL 17 @ CHI 13: I don’t like the Jay Cutler vibe floating around Soldier Field so I’ll take the Rams for the upset. Now the Bears could come out and blow this game out of reach but I don’t think that happens.

BUF 24 @ CLE 23: I like what I saw from Brandon Weeden and Trent Richardson last week and I don’t want to get sucked in to the Bills because of last week’s victory but I’ll take the road team. The Bills are more like the squad they presented last week than in the opener against the Jets…I think.

TB 17 @ DAL 31: The Buccaneers are leaking in the secondary and they have trouble getting a consistent pass-rush on opposing quarterbacks; bad recipe as they visit the jewel of Jerry Jones’ eye…and a salivating Cowboys passing attack.

JAC 13 @ IND 24: I’ll take that Andrew Luck guy. Have you heard of him?

NYJ 21 @ MIA 20: Reggie Bush is one of my favorite players in the league and I think he’ll have a great all-purpose game but the Jets defense will make the one play that the Dolphins offense cannot. Also, Darrelle Revis is back which takes half of the field away from Ryan Tannehill.

SF 27 @ MIN 13: This contest has T-R-A-P all over it but even if it’s a rough and tumble fight…the 49ers will prevail.

DET 34 @ TEN 16: There’s going to be a week – very soon – where Chris Johnson breaks free for a few 80-yard touchdown runs and scares the hell out of opposing defensive coordinators (could be this week) but the Lions are going to need to keep pace with the Packers and Bears in the NFC North playoff race and losing this game doesn’t help that goal.

KC 24 @ NO 37: “Walk up in the dooooooooooooome” is what Drew Brees will be screaming to rev up his team to avoid a 0-3 start. One of these teams will leave the field aware that their entire year will be done before the season is a month old. Think about that! I have a tough time predicting, with conviction, who will win this game but I have to take the Saints in the Superdome.

CIN 21 @ WSH 13: I really like Robert Griffin to sting the Bengals and I feel the home crowd will carry the Redskins for the first quarter or so, but how will they generate a consistent pass rush without Brian Orakpo and Adam Carriker? The fans cannot get in a three-point stance and get in the face of Andy Dalton, although most of them think they can.

PHI 17 @ ARI 24: Michael Vick has committed seven turnovers, including a league-high six interceptions but has also thrown for more than 300 yards in both wins…so far. The turnovers finally bite them this week. Oh wait, is that Kevin Kolb starting for the Cardinals?

ATL 27 @ SD 24: The Chargers have beaten the Raiders and Titans thus far, by no means world-beaters but they do like to light up the scoreboard at home. I think the Falcons will be fools-gold until they make some noise in the postseason…and I could see them getting their wings clipped but I’ll pick them for this week.

HOU 17 @ DEN 23: Houston’s defense will be primed to knock off Denver while they’re still trying to forge their identity. For some reason I feel that Peyton Manning guy will torment his former division rival just enough to get the victory.

PIT 31 @ OAK 17: Steelers.

NE 20 @ BAL 27: I could see both defenses coming out trying to make a statement after both teams took it on the chin last week. This game will be worthy of the national spotlight it will garner and I’m taking the home team. Why is Bill Belichick limiting Wes Welker’s snaps?

GB 24 @ SEA 13: We will see if the Seahawks who destroyed the Cowboys are the real deal in this game. This will be the true test and I wonder how Matt Flynn will feel holding the clipboard and not being under-center.

Enjoy the games!

 

Last Week: 10-6

Season: 22-10

Leave a Reply

