A (NY) City Courting

By: S. Davis

 

Picnic in NY before the weather turns

Stare at the stars, get lost in each other’s eyes

Walk slowly, speak passionately

Smile

 

Complain about your day, into my ears you will

With two ears for listening I’ll understand how you feel

Relax with some wine; find comfort in a great meal

You wonder what’s false; I’ll tell you what’s real

 

Excitement bubbling looking to the next date

Anticipation

You carefully choose a dress and thus arrive late

Patient I am; no frustration

 

You laugh at my jokes

I pretend to do the same for yours

Simplicity.

 

We like one another?

Okay, let’s go!

Dating isn’t complicated

Humans make it so

 

On the dance floor

Eating ice cream in the park

Watching you walk my way

Altering the rhythm of my heart

 

Seeing you in the morning

Hating that you’ll have to leave before dark

Meeting you somewhere if you have something to say

Resting your head on my shoulder, I smell your hair during a sure train delay

 

“Train traffic ahead of us” they say

We respond sarcastically

You read your magazine; I listen to music

Poetry in motion, other couples confused on how we do it

 

Argue over something senseless, forget the whole thing and have a great time “making up”

You say that you “miss me”

Hesitant to respond I am as I haven’t heard those words in some time

We kiss deeply and feel it travel our spines

 

We date and it’s so simple

We’re together because it fits

 

Photo: laiyla.deviantart.com

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

