Is This Us?

By: S. Davis

I think it’s really time to say goodbye

This seems to be the only option

And the truth may hurt but it never lies

We are two different people

Which has never been clearer

I’m wearing the anguish

The proof as shown by the mirror

Lovers? Once upon a time…

Friends? Not even!

We have to exit each other’s lives

You won’t walk?

Well, I’ll do the leaving.

“Growing apart” is a cop-out people use to deflect reality

or to spare one’s feelings

This is broken

And what we have

Is not for fixing

No

No denying we’ve passed the expiration date

Can’t tell? The stench permeates.

4 thoughts on “Is This Us?

  1. AthenaVox August 5, 2011 / 10:06 am

    Now I’m sad. I’m a romantic and relationships ending is a tough subject to read about. I noticed that there is no remorse or hope in this piece. Does the recipient of this poem know the relationship has expired? Sometimes one person is ready to run and the other person just doesn’t have a clue at how miserable the mate is. How do we get to this point? And how do we prevent getting here again? Can staleness in a relationship be prevented?

  2. Sthewriter August 7, 2011 / 9:02 pm

    Not my intent to make you sad, dear, but you know that relationships – for the most part – don’t have jubilant partings. There is no hope in this piece and that’s the point. There are times when a relationship dissolves and one person chooses to ignore it, while the other acknowledges the truth; i’m in the latter category.

    “Can staleness be prevented?” I think so. If both parties put forward the effort to constantly renew their chemistry….yes it can be.

  3. AthenaVox August 8, 2011 / 1:49 pm

    Real life hurts sometimes. I told a friend yesterday that I’m pretty sure I don’t want to date again. The risk of hurt is too great. She said the possibility of feeling the amazing high that love brings, is why I should try again. Not sure if I believe the old adage, “It is better to have loved and lost than never to have loved at all.”

    The jury is still out on this one.

    • Sthewriter August 8, 2011 / 8:38 pm

      Yeah, that old adage is bittersweet at best. I see it from both sides…and yet it’s still bittersweet.

Leave a Reply

