How About Some Change?

By: Shawn Davis

So last night I finally went to see the crime-drama “The Town” with Ben Affleck. SPOILER ALERT!!! Ha, I’m just playing around as I won’t divulge any major detail. Most of the trailers that have aired promoting the film have shown Affleck talking about having the courage to get up and “change” his life which is a central theme.

I am going to change my life.” – Everyone at some point.

Of course the action is the hardest thing – as it is in most cases. Talking about something is the easiest thing to do in the world, but putting those words to use is where people distinguish themselves. I find it to be fascinating.

There are a myriad of reasons why people opt for a life change. They could be related to health, love, career, family, etc. Something substantial has to usually occur to get someone to utter or just feel that way. It’s profound! What usually follows is caution because deciding to “change” will – more than likely – mean that the comfort zone that has been cozy is about to be abandoned or radically altered; maybe both.

Let’s face it: Most of us want to change our lives in some way; some more significantly than others. Everyone has to look in the mirror and find happiness in the person looking back. Honestly, I don’t know how some people go through life without trying, at the very least, to change their direction if they’re experiencing unhappiness.

Going back to the “comfort zone” if I may. Once a set of rules, or should I say norms, are established it’s an ordeal to move from them; even if those same “comforts” bring unhappiness, discomfort or disappointment. You know why? Duh! You see, it’s an evil that you know, as opposed to a new one, that you may have no idea trying to handle. With that said it takes courage to make the decision to change things. We all have that, right?

One of the places where I think making a life changing decision is most difficult has to be when deciding to either look for a new job or change careers outright. You have to wonder about finances, relocation; time spent searching for that shiny new position, etc.

Affairs of the heart are always stressful so changing in regards to love/dating make for emotional outcomes, to say the least. Deciding to give that girl/guy a chance, finding a way to take the relationship to the next level and, of course, getting to the point where it just has to end all add to the fun, right? Nothing’s easy.

There are times when your great author – speaking of myself – gets himself in some sticky situations. However I always find my way out while having a blast in the process so that’s just fine by me. It’s about recognizing the things in life that you can control and then maneuvering until you get as close as you can to the life that you want or need to be living. But you HAVE to take the step.

Even I took a step last night. Recognizing that words are just noise – they really are – unless they’re accompanied with actions, I was proactive. I’m not getting into specifics but there was a situation I found myself in where I had a choice to stand pat or do something. I chose to do something.

“Sometimes you can’t shape your life; sometimes your life shapes you.” – Bill Simmons, ESPN.

Changing your life is scary but it isn’t impossible. Just take the first step and don’t look back…I didn’t.

2 thoughts on “How About Some Change?

  1. redd October 5, 2010 / 5:45 pm

    I agree with you 100% we do complain about certain things in life that we don’t like but never realizing that you do have the ability to change certain things in your life that you don’t like. Now there maybe somethings that you have no control over and can’t change but bottom line it does all boil down to us. I wonder at times do people really want to change or do they just like complaining or talking about it until they are actually blue in the face but never really doing anything about it. We all are also victims of getting comfortable with certain situations and some ppl are afraid of change but you never know until you actually go out there and try something different.

  2. Shawn October 10, 2010 / 6:27 pm

    One of the things that always made me nervous about getting older was that i’d become comfortable, which would not be good for me; especially since i’m not where i want to be at this point of my life. You can’t complain about things, repeatedly, while doing nothing to change the course. I’m still proactive about making things happen and i hope they start working out.

Leave a Reply

